You are here

Drell-Yan Scattering and the Structure of Hadrons

Monday, 21 May, 2012 - 11:45 to Friday, 25 May, 2012 - 11:45

Since it was first observed, the Drell-Yan reaction has been an important tool, used to determine the substructure of both the beam and target hadrons. Experimentally, we are now working toward extending our knowledge of hadron structure from a single dimension—longitudinal momentum described by xBj—to include transverse degrees of freedom in the hadron as well. Traditional deep inelastic scattering (DIS) experiments will offer some answers about the transverse structure of the hadron, but they will necessarily leave some questions unanswered, with a complete answer requiring Drell-Yan measurements as well. This workshop will focus on the future theoretical and experimental work that is necessary to exploit fully the upcoming Drell-Yan measurements that will take place at Fermilab, CERN, Brookhaven and GSI-FAIR. A primary goal of this workshop is to have theoreticians provide input to experimentalists on what should be measured, and for experimentalists to provide feedback to theoreticians on what can be practically measured. Because the Drell-Yan experiments will be collecting significant data samples in the next few years, we believe that this is the time for this workshop. The ability to measure the transverse structure of hadrons in both DIS and Drell-Yan scattering is enabling a test of the universality of transverse momentum dependent parton distributions (TMD) and, more generally, of the present understanding of (TMD) factorization theorems and color charge flow in QCD. The Sivers’ function, f1T⊥, which arises from final-state interactions in DIS, but initial-state interactions in Drell-Yan scattering, is believed to change sign between the two processes. Experimentalists have only recently been able to extract the Sivers’ function from DIS scattering. Soon, a new generation of Drell-Yan experiments will also be able to address this distribution

Registration period: 
20 Sep 2012
Key speakers: 
Werner Vogelsang (U of Tübingen, Germany) Jen-Chieh Peng (U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) Vincenzo Barone (U of Piemonte Orientale and INFN, Italy) Miguel Garcia Echevarria (U of Complutense de Madrid, Spain) Craig Roberts (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) Alexey Prokudin (Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility (JLab), USA) Alessandro Bacchetta (U of Pavia and INFN, Italy) Stefano Melis (ECT*, Italy) Kazutaka Nakahara (U of Maryland, USA) Wen-Chen Chang (Academia Sinica, Taiwan) Roman Pasechnik (Lund University, Sweden) Ivan Belotelov (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research Dubna, Russia) Barbara Pasquini (U of Pavia and INFN, Italy) Zhun Lu (U of Southeas,t China) K. Oleg Eyser (U of Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA) Chiranjib Dutta (U of Michigan, USA) Marco Destefanis (U of Torino and INFN, Italy) Ruslan Akhynzyanov (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna Russia) Marc Schlegel (U of Tübingen, Germany) Catarina Quintans (LIP Lisboa, Portugal) Otto Nachtmann (U of Heidelberg, Germany) Emanuele Roberto Nocera (U of Milano, Italy) Petr Zavada (Institute of Physics Prague, Czech Republic) Ilnur Gabdrakhmanov (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna Russia) Marco Radici (INFN – Pavia, Italy) Naomi C.R. Makins (U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)


Paul Reimer Argonne National Laboratory
Oleg Denisov INFN – Torino
Marco Radici INFN – Pavia
Oleg Teryaev Joint Institutes for Nuclear Research